Catharine Maloney: Teleplay, Part I (Skinnerboox, 2015)

Leave a comment
Color, Contemporary, Photobook
 

For the past five years Catharine Maloney has combined and recorded her interest in men, outer space, and play in her photographic series Teleplay, Part I. The result is a spiral bound 62 page book from Skinnerboox Books (Italy).  The book is filled with playful men,  bright-makeshift costumes, and backdrops.  Her photographs are helter-skelter constructions, manipulated by hand or crudely on the computer, in order to create a strange place.” (https://printedmatter.org/events/394)

 

Catharine Maloney-001

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

Catharine Maloney-002

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

Catharine Maloney-003

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

Catharine Maloney-004

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox


 

“How did Teleplay, Part 1 get started?

I was inspired by looking at old Star Trek episodes and photographs by Ralph Eugene Meatyard. There is a Teleplay, Part 2, I am still working on it.

Where does the title come from?

It’s a play on words, mixing television and play together. I added the “Part, 1” because I want the series of photographs to have a narrative arc.

As low-fi as these are, the process seems to have many layers. Can you tell me a bit more about your process in making these pictures…. from start to finish?

First I find the turtle necks, usually at Goodwill, then I sew gold details onto them from a women’s extra large blouse I found. The models are friends that are hanging out at social gatherings or concerts. They put on the turtle neck and I place them in front of a backdrop or we find a place. I photograph them for fifteen minutes. I like to wait until they get a little bit distracted or are laughing. Sometimes I ask them to do physical actions…the picture is often more interesting when there are multiple people in it. Afterwards I get the film processed and scan it in at home. I add different things to in in Photoshop or by sending it out for cheap prints to monkey with.” Catharine Maloney in an interview with the Humble Arts Foundation (http://hafny.org/blog/2015/5/catharine-maloney-interview)

 

Catharine Maloney-005

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

Catharine Maloney-006

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

Catharine Maloney-007

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

Catharine Maloney-008

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

Catharine Maloney-010

© 2015 Catharine Maloney, Skinnerboox

 
Please note: All images and texts are protected by Copyright and belong to the Artist.
 
Artist: http://www.catharinemaloney.com/
 
Publisher: http://www.skinnerboox.com/boox/teleplay/
 

Leave a Reply

